Quesadilla and Couscous

Posted on March 16, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

This next meal idea is something I just put together one evening for my boyfriend and I.  I didn’t feel like taking time to make a complex meal, but still wanted to impress him with my cooking skills. Why not make something traditional (a cheese quesadilla) a little more untraditional (adding some couscous on the side)?

Couscous (pronounced ‘kuskus’) is a North African/Indian meal supplement much like rice or beans is in other countries that is increasing in popularity in the United States.Traditionally couscous is eaten under a meat or stew, but it can also be eaten alone, as a side dish, flavored or plain, or warm or cold.  I love couscous because it is so versatile, extremely cheap to buy in bulk, and literally takes 5 minutes to make! It also makes great leftovers!

Nutrition Facts for 1 serving of Couscous

Ingredients

Couscous

-1 Cup Couscous

-1 Can Kernel Corn

-3 Onions

-2 Cups Chicken Broth

-1 Whole Cucumber

Quesadilla

– 1 Flour Tortilla

– 2 Slices or 1/4 C Shredded Mozzarella Cheese ( or any other cheese of preference )

Directions

1. Boil the 2 Cups of chicken broth in a medium sized pot.

2. Chop and dice onion and cucumber so it’s ready to add.

3. Once the broth is to a rapid boil pour in the cup of couscous. Reduce heat to low/simmer. Quickly stir in can of corn and onion and then cover for 5 minutes

4. Heat frying pan to medium heat. Place slices or sprinkle shredded cheese onto half of the tortilla. Fold in half and place directly on the pan. Flip over when the side touching the pan is a light brown color. Remove from pan when cheese is melted and both sides of the tortilla are a light brown color.

5. When couscous is ready to eat, add the slices of cucumber for a nice ‘cool’ flavor.

6. ENJOY!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “Quesadilla and Couscous”

RSS Feed for Healthful Eating Tips Comments RSS Feed

Looks good! This blog has a lot of useful information. It is hard to stay healthy in college when you don’t have a lot of time or money to cook healthy meals. But these recipes look yummy!

ooo yummy i want to try this. i love couscous!

I was thinking about couscous the other day, but I couldn’t remember the name of it! I’m so glad I found this to remind me! I will definitely be trying this fun recipe, it looks so easy and delicious.

I would never have paired those two together but it actually sounds really good! Thanks for the idea.

Sounds so good. Quesadillas are pretty much my favorite food and I have never even heard of couscous but I think it would be a great, easy, healthy addition

I love couscous. so good for you too


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

